Document 458

A Small Book of Translations: 10 - Catullus 9

Author(s): Alexander Hutchison

Copyright holder(s): Alexander Hutchison



Love, Leebie, lat's – an tak
wir taik, an coont a maik for aa
the havers o coorse aal men.
Suns ging doon an sclim anither day:
tae us, oor tottie flichter tint
nicht's a sweven strecks forivver.
A thoosan smoorichs gie's, a hunner syne –
anither thoosan, a secont hunner –
anither thoosan, forby a hunner mair.
An fan there's thoosans eftir thoosans
dicht the sclate, an dinna reck –
or ony golach gaurs us ill, gin it's jaloust
hoo lang or aft we've clapt an cleekit.

This work is protected by copyright. All rights reserved.

The SCOTS Project and the University of Glasgow do not necessarily endorse, support or recommend the views expressed in this document.


Cite this Document

APA Style:

A Small Book of Translations: 10 - Catullus 9. 2024. In The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech. Glasgow: University of Glasgow. Retrieved 23 June 2024, from

MLA Style:

"A Small Book of Translations: 10 - Catullus 9." The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech. Glasgow: University of Glasgow, 2024. Web. 23 June 2024.

Chicago Style

The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech, s.v., "A Small Book of Translations: 10 - Catullus 9," accessed 23 June 2024,

If your style guide prefers a single bibliography entry for this resource, we recommend:

The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech. 2024. Glasgow: University of Glasgow.


Information about Document 458

A Small Book of Translations: 10 - Catullus 9


Text audience

General public
Audience size N/A

Text details

Method of composition N/A
Year of composition 2004
Word count 95
General description Collection of poems in translation

Text medium

Leaflet/brochure (prospectus)
Magazine (e-zine)

Text publication details

Part of larger text

Text setting

Other Literature in translation

Text type



Author details

Author id 420
Forenames Alexander
Surname Hutchison
Gender Male
Decade of birth 1940
Educational attainment University
Age left school 17
Occupation Writer / Senior Lecturer
Place of birth Buckie
Region of birth Banff
Birthplace CSD dialect area Bnf
Country of birth Scotland
Place of residence Glasgow
Region of residence Glasgow
Residence CSD dialect area Gsw
Country of residence Scotland
Father's occupation Medical Practitioner
Father's place of birth Spey Bay
Father's region of birth Moray
Father's birthplace CSD dialect area Mry
Father's country of birth Scotland
Mother's occupation School Meals Supervisor
Mother's place of birth Buckie
Mother's region of birth Banff
Mother's birthplace CSD dialect area Bnf
Mother's country of birth Scotland


Language Speak Read Write Understand Circumstances
English Yes Yes Yes Yes Generally/work/home etc.
French Yes Yes No Yes
Italian No Yes No No translation
Latin No Yes No No
Scots Yes Yes Yes Yes Socially/home/writing